Our executive team

Chief Executive

Mr Ernest Schmatt PSM Dip Law (BAB)

Mr Ernest Schmatt

Mr Ernest Schmatt is responsible for all of the Commission’s operations. He has input into all aspects of the Commission’s work, from financial management to research, complaints, information systems management and education activities. Mr Schmatt held senior legal and management positions in the public sector before his appointment, in October 1987, as the first Deputy Chief Executive of the Judicial Commission. In March 1989, he was appointed to the position of Chief Executive of the Judicial Commission. He was admitted to the Bar in 1979 and is a solicitor of the Supreme Court of NSW and the High Court of Australia. Mr Schmatt was awarded the Public Service Medal in the 1997 Queen’s Birthday Honours List for service to public sector management and reform, public sector industrial relations and judicial education in NSW. Mr Schmatt was elected to the Board of Governors of the International Organisation for Judicial Training (IOJT) in 2009 and to the Executive Committee of the IOJT in 2011. He was re-elected to this position in 2013. Since 1994, he has been a member of the Advisory Board of the Commonwealth Judicial Education Institute and serves on the management committee of the Asia Pacific Judicial Reform Forum. Mr Schmatt is also an Honorary Associate in the Graduate School of Government, the University of Sydney. He has been involved in judicial capacity-building programs in China, Indonesia, Cambodia, Sri Lanka, Malaysia, the Philippines, Turkey and Papua New Guinea.

Deputy Chief Executive

Mr Murali Sagi PSM BEng MBA (CSU) GradCertPSM (UWS) Dip Law (LPAB) MIEAust FACS

Mr Murali Sagi is principally responsible for information management, corporate services and Lawcodes and deputises for the Chief Executive in his absence. Mr Sagi commenced employment with the Commission in 1992 and has over 25 years of experience in managing complex programs and policy challenges in both the government and private sectors. He has provided technical assistance to many organisations including AusAID, United Nations, Asian Development Bank and the Commonwealth Secretariat, London, for capacity building projects in the legal sectors of Indonesia, West Bank and Gaza, Cambodia, India, Sri Lanka and Papua New Guinea. Mr Sagi is a qualified engineer, computer specialist, management professional and a lawyer. Mr Sagi was awarded the Public Service Medal in the 2007 Queen’s Birthday Honours List for outstanding service to the Judicial Commission, particularly in the provision of information technology. He was also named as the “Chief Information Officer – Government” of the year at the National IT&T awards, 2003, and is a Fellow of the Australian Computer Society.

Director, Research and Sentencing

Mr Hugh Donnelly BA (Melb) LLB (UNSW) LLM (Syd)

Mr Hugh Donnelly is responsible for the Commission’s research program and the Judicial Information Research System (JIRS).  He was appointed Director, Research and Sentencing in July 2007. He was admitted as a legal practitioner in 1992 and his prior experience includes five years as Principal Research Lawyer and three years as High Court lawyer at the Office of Director of Public Prosecutions (NSW), and three years as Manager of the Commission’s Research and Sentencing Division. Mr Donnelly is the author of several publications on evidence and sentencing law, including the Sentencing Bench Book.

Education Director

Ms Una Doyle BCL (University College Cork and National University of Ireland), LLM (Syd)

Ms Una Doyle is responsible for the Commission’s judicial education program. She works closely with the Education Committees of each court to plan and organise all Commission conferences and seminars, and is also responsible for the Commission’s publishing program. Ms Doyle has held the position of Director, Education since December 2015. She has worked for over 20 years in legal education. Prior to joining the Judicial Commission, Ms Doyle was the Head of Professional Development, Membership and Communications, at the Law Society of New South Wales and the Director of Continuing Professional Education at the College of Law. She is the immediate past President of ACLEA, the International Association for Continuing Legal Education and co-chaired ACLEA’s International Committee from 2007-2009. She was President of the Continuing Legal Education Association of Australasia from 2005-2007, and has served as a member of its Executive for five terms.